top of page

Perjalananku yang tak terduga (My Voyage towards the unknown)

Time indeed flies so fast for I did not much realized that it is already the day for us, Ateneo de Naga University student delegates, to leave our beloved city and travel towards our respective countries for the SEATeach Program. I have already packed my bags and luggage, bid my farewell to my families and friends, and eventually took a giant step towards a place and culture unfamiliar to me. It was indeed a difficult place to be in – to leave my country and venture in a different one. But then I realized that it is now or never. And so, I did it!


Coming from my own city, Naga City, we took a bus going to the capital of our country, Manila. It was a long and tiring trip, for I have travelled for almost twelve hours to reach the airport. Good thing that I had my schoolmates and friends with me during the trip that made our journey lighter and more fun. As we moved by the road, we were also creating good memories to cherish.


Then upon reaching the airport, I have accomplished the necessary forms that I would need for the flight. I have checked in my luggage, paid the travel tax, and even passed through the Immigration Officers. Luckily, I had a smooth process in terms of the needed steps to undertake in leaving my home country. Then after almost eight hours of waiting, I have already boarded the plane heading to Jakarta, Indonesia. I was both excited and nervous at the same time because it would be my first time to go out of my country, I just strengthened my faith to forget all of the negative thoughts bothering my mind and just concentrated on what is in store for me in Indonesia.


I had a smooth flight, together with my other schoolmates and friends, towards Jakarta. We rode Air Asia Airlines going to Jakarta, then had Garuda Airlines for our Jakarta to Padang journey. It was indeed a unique experience because I was boarding with people of varied nationalities and ethnicities. Generally, it became a very fun-filled memory for me because some of the staff in the restaurants and airports that I have been has mistaken me to become Indonesia. They even spoke Bahasa to me, thinking that I am a native of their country. But then, instead of being offended for the said event, it became a very humbling experience to actually realize that in spite of the differences of nationality and origin, all of us still share a part of ourselves to other people. We may wear different clothes, dine different flavours and food, and even practice varied customs; but yet we are still one race of individuals – living, loving, and giving to God and to our fellowmen.



The same, quirky me from Philippines to Indonesia! I am actually very grateful for my safety throughout the trip.

During our airplane ride, it seemed like we were floating through the clouds. Look at the breathtaking view!

My trip was so much better with my fellow Bicolana alongside the trip, Richelle. We posed for a selfie before the landing in Padang.






bottom of page