top of page

Saya Seorang Guru Untuk Semua (Yes, I am a Teacher for All)

It is indeed true that time flies so fast when one enjoys what one does, for little did I know, my one month stay here in my cooperating school, SMA 1 Padang, is already nearing to its end. All my early mornings, lesson preparations, and enjoyable classroom discussions with my students would now be over; but nonetheless, I believe that the lessons that I have gained would be with me forever. My one month practice teaching has definitely brought positive impact to me as a future educator. Allow me to enumerate the valuable things I have learned from my cooperating teacher, my supervisors, and from my students as well.



First, I have learned that learning inside the classroom should always be learner-centered. The activities, strategies, and methodologies shall be anchored on the needs of the students - their learning styles, dominant intelligences, and even their likes and interests. In that way, the students would be able to create meaning from what they are learning, and eventually apply them to their daily decisions. Especially in the advent of the 21st century, the teacher shall not be the sole veseel of information and knowledge in the discussion; instead it shall be a give-and-take process between the students and the teacher to learn from and with each other.


Second, I have learned how to teach with my heart, like the famous words of Bob Talbert, "Teaching kids how to count is fine, but teaching them what counts is best." Throughout our lecture discussions, I have allowed my students not only to refine their knowledge but also how they would treat the people, animals, and nature around them. Knowledge would be useless if one would not be able to live it out in the real world. I wanted them to understand that there is more to their grades and marks in school, for the most important test that they would need to pass is how to live their lives to the fullest without having regrets in the end.


One manifestation of this principle is during the end of each of our topics, my students and I would contemplate on the significance and impact of learning a certain topic in their lives. I would allow them to look beyond to what is presented inside the classroom and reflect on the deeper purpose of them being at school.



In addition, I gained a new perspective that definitely changed how I view teaching. I realized that as a teacher, one should not only know the subject matter one is teaching but one's students as well. I have enjoyed much getting to know my students beyond classroom level - their interests, hobbies during their leisure time, and even their stands in several societal issues. During these instances, I forget that I am their teacher for alike them, I am also a learner as I listen and share with them our thoughts about the things around us. Also, given that I am from a foreign country, we have also took the one-month opportunity to have cultural immersions and exchange on the Philippines and Indonesia. Even during break time, we would share and among each other how interesting each of our cultures are. Our rich history and belief may have shaped us to the person we are now, but when we share it with others, we become more of a person as we open our horizons to limitless possibilities of learning.


Most importantly, I have developed in my teaching practice in Indonesia a never-say-die attitude. Indeed, teaching is a no-easy job, for it is a lifetime commitment to offer one's time, effort, and talents for the betterment of the students. In spite of the many challenges and demands that I have faced, I have reaffirmed to myself that I want to be a teacher. I desire to inspire the youth to always strive for progress instead of perfection. I desire to empower the youth to never be afraid to try and pursue the things that they want for themselves. I desire to hone the youth to the fullest of their potentials to ultimately create the change we need in the world we live in. I know that I need not to be a superhero to do all of these things,for I can be a simple yet dedicated educator, touching their lives and hearts one student at a time.


And may it be in my home country, the Philippines, or in my second home, Indonesia, I would always gladly accept the challenge to become an educator. I am a teacher for all.






















bottom of page